Moroccan Date and Cinnamon Tagine (v)

 

Date and Cinnamon Tagine

Hello,

Out of all the senses that I can represent to you reading this, it’s a dear shame that it’s sight. If I could swap the photo for smell, or better, taste, I would. This tagine looks very chickpea tomato-y, but it’s so sweet, the sweetness of the cinnamon and dates are what you’re tasting. I guess you’ll have to try it to know what I mean.

I always wondered what classified as a “Tagine.” It appears to be used when people don’t seem to know what to refer to a mix of ingredients. I found in a book yesterday that a “tagine” is the traditional pot that Moroccan dishes would be made in. I like to deliver recipes with a healthy serving of knowledge.

[Serves 2]

Ingredients:

  • 2 Small Red Onions, chopped
  • 2 Cloves Garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 100g Dates, chopped
  • 1 Medium Courgette, sliced
  • 400g Can/Carton of Chopped Tomatoes
  • 1 Can Chickpeas, drained

Sauté onions and garlic in a pan with a pinch of salt until the onions have softened (you can use oil here if you wish but I used some water).

Add the courgette and dates, continue to sauté until the courgette softens (again with water this happens quite quickly, more raw= better)

Now add the chopped tomatoes, chickpeas and cinnamon. Allow to simmer until it becomes a fragrant, sweet thick delight.

Serve with quinoa, rice and maybe a salad. (Pictured with some spicy cous cous and spinach).

Enjoy it,

GG

x

3 thoughts on “Moroccan Date and Cinnamon Tagine (v)

  1. That looks great, wish I could taste it! It’s my birthday next week and I’ve asked for a tagine as a present so I’m hoping to receive one. I’ve cooked tagine dishes in a regular pot which tasted great but the conical shape of the tagine lid is meant to allow the steam to circulate. I’m not sure what the effect of that is but centuries of trial and error in cooking must have got it right.

    • Wow I’m so jealous I’d love a tagine, I’m definitely asking for a lot of crockery when my birthday comes around, that’s a good addition to my fact I had no idea! But you’re right heaven knows what kind of delicious addition it makes to the meal. Thank you so much for the comment, let me know if you try it! x x

      • Well, I received the tagine for my birthday and I’ve ordered a Moroccan and a Lebanese cook books. They’re not due to arrive until Monday but I don’t think I can wait so will be giving the tagine it’s first run out on Saturday night!

Leave a Reply

